Meet The Staff!!


Are you interested in becoming a Monarch Writer or a Special Guest Contributor?? Email us at a sample of your work or call us at 541- 294 – 0827 and tell us what you want to write about!

We are a group of young and brilliant writers from Oregon! We all attend Oregon Virtual Academy and are dedicated to bringing you along our journey! Want to meet the staff? Read on.

Bartholomew the Monarch Butterfly: Mascot


*In British accent* ‘Ello there. My title is Bartholomew the Monarch Butterfly, but I would prefer if you would be so kind and call me Bartholomew. At 4:00 each day I enjoy a little bit of tea. Earl Grey Tea is my favorite. I love to play croquet and every once in a while I enjoy crumpets with the Queen of England (we are very good friends). I do not do much, except migrating when I have to and travel around every once in a while. In what spare time I have, I like to read Shakespeare and visit the Opera. Until later, I bid thee farewell. 

Amaya B. Staff Contributor

My name is Amaya B. I am a 16-year-old junior attending ORVA. My family and I have moved around to various states, but I have been enrolled in a K12 program since the third grade. I have two cats named Daisy and Tom. I love writing, card making, and American history.  I have a passion for politics, and I am very patriotic. I model my life after Alex P. Keaton. After I finish high school, I intend to be a political science major in college. I am looking forward to writing for the blog this year and I can already tell this will be one of my favorite classes.

Alex S – Staff Contributor

Hello, my name is Alex and this is my 4th year here at ORVA. When it comes to technology, from Windows to phones and a bunch more, I know a thing or two. When i don’t, i pick up on it pretty quick. I have a twin brother who i find to be more spiritual of the two of us. I on the other hand, tend to be more logical and examine problems. I am also a huge gaming nerd and as i said before, pick up on it quick. I also take an interest in the culinary arts. I love my pets (our exotic birds and our newest addition, a puppy named Bella). I look forward to working on this blog more and more.

Calypso P – Staff Contributor

Hi, I’m Calypso or Cal for short! I’m 15 years old and this is my 3rd year attending ORVA. I was born in Missouri but moved around to a bunch of states until I settled in Oregon. I spend most of my life drawing, painting, and playing with my two chinchillas. I also like video games, anime, and gardening. I look forward to writing for the blog and working on the yearbook! 

Connor L – Staff Contributor

    My name is Connor and this year I am starting 11th grade. I have been with ORVA/k12 since third grade. Having the flexibility of doing lessons and assignments on my own time is great and really fits with my schedule. During free time, my absolute favorite thing to do is play video games. Even though that is almost always my first choice of something to do, I do have other favorite activities too. Anything to do with water is always lots of fun; most of all swimming and water fights. If it is not too hot or raining, I like to ride my three-wheel bike around the park. I also enjoy cooking, especially desserts. I have two dogs. Snickers is a Yorkie and Clancey is a white Lab. My three cats are Marley (a black and gray tabby), Onyx (a gray fluffball), and Bentley (a Siamese). Bentley is our rescue cat because we found him alone at the park when he was only about four weeks old. For me, the best types of movies are animated; ones that will make me laugh. Speaking of laughter, I love to tell and hear jokes. Music, I like pretty much a little bit of everything. Rap is not my favorite, but there are even a couple of those I like.

Jacob L. – Staff Contributor

Hi, I am a sophomore at ORVA.  I volunteer at a horse training facility and it is the best thing ever. I plan on attending a 4-Year university in the future, not sure which one yet, but I have time. I plan on studying Business and Equine Science and then see where those two degrees take me. I live on a beautiful 36-acre farm in Tillamook, Oregon and our farm consists of rabbits, horses, a mini pig, a cow, emus, chickens, peacocks, ducks, geese, dogs, and cats.

Kaitlyn R – Staff Contributor

I really enjoy creative writing. Short stories, poems, and fan-fiction are the things I enjoy writing the most. I love watching Jacksepticeye, someone I consider as one of my heroes. Most of my stories and poems are kept in my head, so the ones that make it out are extra special. I want to work in the BAU department of the FBI when I get older. My favorite color is blue, and that’s about all the talking about me I can do.

Kimberly C – Staff Contributor

Hello my name is Kimberly C. but I prefer to be called KC. I am 16 years old, a sophomore in ORVA. This would be my second year attending ORVA. I love to play the piano and guitar and also love to sing. I write my own music and make the beats, it’s my passion. I learned to play guitar first when I was 13 and the piano as well earlier that same year. I used to own two acoustic guitars and a keyboard. I am very shy at first but once I get used to you I am very loud and annoying. I enjoy writing especially when it’s raining, because it just gets me in the mood to write a sad song. I personally don’t watch anime but I do watch Dragon Ball Z and I love it. I have a doggy; he is mixed poodle and I called him GOKU, he is so cute and tiny; sadly he lives in Keizer due to the fact that my parents don’t like pets at home but I still see him every day. I love to just stay home on the weekends and chill with some Netflix on, but I also like to go out yet, it’s very rare if I do go out with some friends.

Landen A – Staff Contributor

Hi, my name is Landen and I live in Hillsboro, Oregon. I love playing basketball and my goal is to become either a singer or a basketball player. My hobby is singing and favorite food is donuts.

Levi G. Staff Contributor

Hi! My name is Levi, I’m 16, a junior in high school, and this is my 8th year with ORVA! I’m a drummer, a game master for tabletop RPG’s, a photographer, skater, video gamer, and I absolutely love to write! I write whole lots of fiction from short stories to long projects, though I also enjoy some corners of non-fiction too! Writing is an escape, whether it’s within a memoir, a fantasy piece, or a work of poetry, I’m happy to write anything I can; And I do consider myself a poet too. This year I look forward to writing for the K12 blog and the school yearbook as it can provide awesome opportunities for me and my classmates. Let’s make this a good one!

Paige S – Chief Editor/ Webmaster

Hi, my name is Paige, I`m 15 and a Sophmore. I have been with ORVA for about 6 and a half years. I love doing any crafts or anything creative in general. I paint, draw, needle felt, resin, clay, ceramics, papercraft, baking, special effect makeup, just recently sewing, and probably a few more things that I`m forgetting. I learn many thing but master none of them. My father has collected all sorts of old games and stuff like that my whole life, I grew up playing video games from the old arcades to the Xbox 1 and I absolutely love to play them in my free time now. More recently my dad has collected full-size arcade cabinets for many years and just recent;y have been teaching me how to fix them. I love doing the electronic and figuring out the problems. I look forward to working and writing for the blog this year.

Samuel S – Staff Contributor

Hey! I’m Samuel or Red, I’m 15 years old, and this is my second year back at ORVA! I’m a part time 3D animator for Black Plasma Studios, and currently in the process of making my own animation company. After high school I would like to get an internship at Laika. I take parkour classes, as well as train outdoor sometimes. My favorite subjects consist of anything writing related, since I love being creative! One of my favorite activities is letting my mind run wild while listening to Cavetown, furiously constructing a script, then bringing it to life through animation. It’s really satisfying and rewarding to see my ideas form right before me, and have the ability to express them greatly. I’m excited to get working and start flexing my writing muscles to a further extent!

Tudor C – Guest Contributor

Hi, I’m Tudor. I’m a sophomore and this is my 6th year with ORVA. I’ve been training classical piano for the past 9 years (since I was around 6 or 7 years old), and as of now have begun branching out into other styles of music; especially dramatic soundtrack/trailer-esque music. I love writing because it’s an outlet where I can portray all the little stories that run rampant in my head throughout the day on various occasions. I love exploring different genres and styles of writing, as well as taking inspirations from certain authors I admire. I hope to leave a positive impact on the k12 blog and the people who read it, as well as further develop my writing skills.

The Adviser – Mrs. Lower

Born in New Delhi, India, Mrs. Lower moved to the states when she was five years old.  This is her 6th year at ORVA and last year she ran for the Oregon State Legislator but lost by only 1800 votes. It was a great experience and she met a lot of wonderful people and learned so many great things about the state of Oregon.  Teaching is her 2nd career; she worked for the Washington State Department of Transportation working with state and federal legislation.  She has a daughter and two sons, who are all grown up and living on their own in Washington State. She also has three grandsons.  Mrs. Lower lives with her husband and dog, Olaf in Seaside.

Create a website or blog at

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: